Free Coffee! | Stephen Jones

My favorite coffee shop was giving out free coffee the other day, and I made sure to get some. I actually got 2 cups. Yes, I admit

I am addicted to coffee. And no, I do not have any intentions of quitting. But there are two reasons why you didn’t get a free cup of coffee. Either you didn’t hear about it, or you didn’t care about it.

If you were one of the people who would have liked a free coffee but didn’t hear about it, I’m sorry. I did not text you, and I did not post on social media about it. I feel somewhat responsible. But I got my two cups! I heard about it online, but forgot about it until I came up to the drive-thru and was offered a free cup. Then I told my friend Daniel about it and went with him to grab a second cup.

As much as I love coffee, it is no replacement for the hope and joy I find in Christ. Yes, even in free coffee day I found a way to relate it Jesus. But in all seriousness, there are people who need to hear about Jesus. And we can’t be restricted to who we tell. Just like I only heard about free coffee because I was already going to the coffee shop, there are some people who are already in church to hear about Jesus, and hopefully someone at that church offers Jesus to them.

But then there are people like Daniel, who never had any intentions of going to a coffee shop, and therefore had no idea about the free coffee. He is like those who have no intention of going to church, and will only hear about Jesus if someone outside of church tells them. Who are we to keep this good news from others?

“Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples!”
– Psalm 96:3

editor’s note: Cumberland Farms is offering free coffee every Friday during the month of October! You missed it this week, but there’s still 3 Fridays left. Set an alarm on your phone so you don’t forget, because, yeah, FREE COFFEE!

20141011-001934.jpg

