Quick Quote | For King & Country: On Trials

Yesterday, Luke Smallbone, one half of Christian artist For King & Country, published this message on the band’s facebook:

“If you gave me a choice to redo the last few years of my life and eliminate my struggle with illness, I’d choose to walk through it all once again, because today I send this message to you as a man more full of joy and hope than ever before. Sickness has transformed my perspective on life, marriage, God and music.

The following video documents this story which, as you’ll see, is one of the most raw and personal songs I’ve ever been a part of. My hope is that through my journey and my struggle, you’ll be truly impacted and encouraged. Here the story behind “Without You (feat. Courtney).” Stand strong and carry on. – Luke”

Luke is a living testimony of the truth found in James 1:2:

“Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.”

I think that’s one of those verses we kind of blow off. We read it and think something along the lines of, “oh, that’s not for me!” We think it’s for some sort of spiritual super star, not mere mortals like us.

But the truth is, we become spiritual ninjas only in, under and through the fire.

It’s never easy while the storms are raging, but if we find the strength to trust that God is refining us, that he’s got us, our faith will be rewarded on the other side.

Think Joseph, Mary and Martha, and David. Just a few examples from God’s Word of people who went through terrible, almost unimaginable trials only to find great joy in the morning.

20140820-105616.jpg

Leave a Reply

