Quick Quote | Kyle Idleman: On Pride

I heard a great message by Kyle Idleman this week in which he made a great observation on pride.

You may be familiar with the parable about the Pharisee and the tax collector in Luke 18:9-14.

In verse 11, the Pharisee prays, “I thank you, God, that I am not a sinner like everyone else. For I don’t cheat, I don’t sin, and I don’t commit adultery. I’m certainly not like that tax collector!”

We read that and think, ‘Man, can you believe that guy? I would never pray like that!’

Jesus often flips the script and takes what we think we know, and what we’ve been taught, and turns it on it’s head. His teaching in this passage is so much deeper than what it seems.

See, he’s not just talking about the Pharisee. He’s talking about US.

Think about it. What we’re saying or thinking when we read that is, “Thank God, I’m not like that guy.”

Boom.

Kyle points out that, “pride lets us put other people under a microscope and let ourselves off the hook. Pride blinds us to our own weaknesses and magnifies where others are weak.”
(via @KyleIdleman)

20140810-113251.jpg

Leave a Reply

